In solidarity, compassion, and power,

Cherrell Brown (@Awkward_Duck on Twitter) tweeted “This was white folks response to the movement for Black lives. This was their mobilization.”

We will respond.

I will march for black lives. I will march for my brown life and other brown lives. I will march for my queer life and other queer lives. I will march for undocumented lives. I will march for my rights as a survivor of sexual violence and intimate partner violence and the rights of other survivors of sexual and gendered violence. I will be unafraid. I will be loud. I will no longer be silenced. I will no longer hide.

In these moments, I cannot show up for people how I had been before today. I cannot wear my counselor hat outside of work anymore. All I can do is weep with you and build community with you and hold you as you hold me. Please honor your own boundaries. We are all in a state of trauma and terror.

I will walk folks of color home when they are afraid, walk me home too. I will walk folks who are LGBTQetc home when they are afraid, walk me home too. I will walk folks who are survivors home when they are afraid, walk me home too. I will walk folks home who feel afraid because of their documentation status, religious identity, cultural expression, or any other piece of your identity.

I will not be silent or stand idly by in the face of abusive, exploitative, hateful, manipulative predators with a lack of morality amongst whom is the President of the United States and his constituents. I am afraid for myself and other and fear will no longer be a mechanism to control me.

In solidarity, compassion, and power,
Arieana

Leave a Reply

