Like you did me

I wonder if you studied her curves
How I wish you had mine
Do you listen when she speaks
And get lost in her words
Do you cruise through the labyrinth of her mind
How I wish you had mine
Do you smile when she’s goofy
And are you playful in return
Do you laugh at her jokes
How I wish you had mine
Do you hug her tight
Till your knuckles are white
And do you smell her hair when your face nuzzles on her head because she fits perfectly inside your embrace
How I wish you had mine
Do you lose track of time
Looking into her eyes
With speckles of gold and copper
Do you stare into the never ending universe inside her pupils
How I wish you did mine
Do you watch her laugh
And try to make her smile
Because it lights up your day
Do you kiss her lips gently
How I wish you had mine
Do you watch the sun hit her shoulders
And reach out to touch her
And feel the spark in her skin
When you make contact with her
How I wish you had mine

Or do you look past her like she’s not even there
Do you dismiss her
Like you did me
Do you shut her down
And quiet her
Like you did me
Do you put her down and dull the sparkle in her eye
Like you did me
Do you critique her curves
Like you did me
Do you make her feel irrelevant
And too much and too bold and too Loud
Like you did me
Does her opinion matter
Or is her two cents spare change
To be left behind
Like you did me
Are you the reason she frowns
Permanently painted on her face
Like you did me
Are you mean
Are you hurtful
Do you make her feel small
Like you did me
Do you put your hands around her neck
Until your knuckles are white
Like you did me
Do you leverage your affection
Do you make her earn it
Like you did me
Did you steal the euphoria from her soul
Empty laughter and painful smiles
Like you did me
Does your kiss feel phantom
Do you disappear when she needs you
Like you did me

Or does she do you like you did me

I hope you find happiness
Really I do
I hope you don’t drain the spirit from her body
Like you did me
Leeches do what they’re programmed to do
Kind of like you
It’s not my job to teach you how to treat people
Or to show you that I’m worthy of love
But sometimes I wonder
If I’d tried to help you be whole
Even when I was broken
That maybe you wouldn’t leave disaster in your path
You wouldn’t leave people floored in the wake of your visit
That maybe the next girl wouldn’t be destined to suffer a fate like me

So I hope you give her love
and accept her love
how I wish you had mine
And I hope you do nothing to her, like you did me
And if I’m just hopeful
and the reality is
That history repeats its self
with grayer hair
I hope someone helps her get out
Like someone helped me
I’d rather you be lonely
Than her feel like me
I hope you’ll forgive me
Like I did for you
And I hope you find happiness
Like I found for me

Arieana

Leave a Reply

