Storming

You tried to break me

Every tactic

Every strategy 

You employed 

From your hands around my neck

To your words in my head

You were like the drought in my habitat

Disrupting my ecology

All systems scrambling to adjust 

And adapt

I am nature

I always adapt 

But at what cost?

Do we lose life?

Pieces of me that were part of this ecosystem lost in extinction

On the verge of being lost forever 

Death will fertilize birth and growth

I will grow back

With roots thicker and stronger 

You can put rocks in my way

And like a river cuts through rock

Not with force

But with persistence 

I press on 

I cannot be stopped

No man made damn or well can hinder my strength

That is why I cannot be broken

That is why I continue flowing as if you never existed
And you are angry 

That you are so broken after loving me 

And I am not 

You cannot buckle down the hatches

To hide from this 

My after math is a tsunami 

I am the calm before the storm

And once I have come and gone 

Prepare for the worst darling

It will be painful and scary and will take you to the brink 
You don’t seem to understand 

It it’s not about my greatness

It is not about my strength

It is about the beauty in a force of nature that cannot be contained 

You are not hurt that I left you 

Darling do not be mistaken 

You are angry

That you were playing in the waters of my pond

And when the seasons changed

A storm came 

You are angry that you had me

Right where you wanted 

However you wanted 

Whenever you wanted 

And you were comfortable 

You are angry that you have to watch me from a distance 

That these waters are not for you any more

That you are not comfortable any longer 

That others have come and gone through this river of mine as if you were nothing but just another passerby resting their feet and taking a drink 

The storm that is my aftermath

Is not from me

Oh on the contrary dear 

It is from you 

You are drowning in the tidal wave that is your anger 

Anger that you lost me 

When you could have had everything

I was almost shattered into a million pieces because of your love 

I am not sorry that I left 

I am not sorry that your storm is so strong

I am not sorry that I left 

So that I could live 

I am not sorry 

I hope your levees don’t break 

And your hatches don’t lift 

I hope you make it 

But I am not sorry about the fact that I will be okay

Leave a Reply

